FreeCity Natural History Museum

L1010562

I’d seen Free City clothing at Ron Herman a few years ago, and I have to say, I didn’t really get it. The colors were nice, interesting graphics and I noticed that the garments were made in the US, all good details, but overall I took it to be another “of the moment” style concept with a little more integrity. Since then several people I respect mentioned that Nina Garduno (founder and ring leader of the concept/store) was super talented and I should check out what she was up to. I was lucky enough to meet her at a dinner we did at Heath LA and we had a wonderful conversation about her work, the making of her creations at her studio in LA, the level of detail and craft that going in to it all and how satisfying it is to work under these values. Next, she asked us to make some things for the new concept in her FreeCity Supershop (which opened last week). Robin and I got to go and by this point I totally got what FreeCity was about and couldn’t wait to see what she was going to create next. The place is oozing with interesting stuff and it’s blurry as to what is for sale, and what is created to illustrate and explore the concept going on in the store. It’s like being inside a really great fantasy snow globe. If you’re anywhere near Malibu you need to check it out.

-cathy

